Steubenville Wins OVAC Wrestling Tournament - WTRF 7 News Sports Weather - Wheeling Steubenville

Steubenville Wins OVAC Wrestling Tournament

Posted: Updated:

Steubenville Big Red captured the 60th Ron Mauck, OVAC Wrestling Tournament at WesBanco Arena. It's the eighth title in school history, and first since 1995.

Big Red had four individual winners, while ending Parkersburg South's three-years stranglehold on the overall title.

Steubenville freshman Tariq Wilson claimed the championship at 106 pounds. Anthony Craig (126) defeated Martins Ferry's Damon Outward 9-3, Big Reds' Charlie Keenan took home the title at 195, while Greg Moray claimed the championship at 220.

Big Red was also the 4-A Champion, while South took home the 5A crown.  Shadyside won the A-AA title thanks to a trio of winners.  Ian Baker, after finishing as a runner-up twice, captured the 145 title with a 9-5 win over Jonny Davis of Wheeling Park. Alex Quinn won his second straight title at 152 by defeating Sawyer Leppla of Cambridge 5-1. Chase Kinemond returned from an injury which caused him to miss last season, took the title at 160 by beating St.Clairsville's Dylan Nolte in a four-overtime thriller by the score of 2-1.

Wheeling Park finished third overall, in head coach Jack Doyle's first OVAC Tournament. The Patriots had a pair of champions including sophomore Dylan Taylor at 138, who defeated Ryan Lopez of University 9-3. Cody Amos finished the tournament with five straight pins in claiming the 182-pound title with a win over Caldwell's Jared Leasure. Amos was the Hercules Award winner and won the prestigious Bierkorte award, for the tournament's most outstanding wrestler.

Dave Lamotte was named the Mr.Mat Award winner.



1. Steubenville 241.5

2. Parkersburg South 238

3. Wheeling Park 179

4. Brooke 127





AAA: River

AAAA: Steubenville

AAAAA: Parkersburg South