St.Clairsville's McLean Named OVAC Coach Of The Year - WTRF 7 News Sports Weather - Wheeling Steubenville

St.Clairsville's McLean Named OVAC Coach Of The Year

Posted: Updated:

St.Clairsville's Brett McLean was named the OVAC coach of the year Monday night during the 28th annual OVAC Banquet of Champions.

For McLean it was his first time winning the honor after also being nominated in 2007.

McLean led the Red Devils to a perfect 10-0 regular season and the schools sixth OVAC football championship, their first since 1990.

What pushed Brett over the top was guiding the Red Devils to the D-4 state championship game where they lost to Clinton-Massie 46-36 , but finished with a 14-1 record.

The other nominees where St.Clairsville boys basketball coach Kim Clifford , Fort Frye girls basketball coach Dan Liedtke , Steubenville wrestling coach Mike Blackburn and John Marshall softball coach Ed West.