Duke Wins 5th NCAA Championship



Mike Krzyzewski and the Duke Blue Devils have their fifth NCAA championship following their work of their four freshmen. 

Tyus Jones, Jahlil Okafor, Justice Winslow and Grayson Allen carried the Blue Devils to a 68-63 comeback victory over Wisconsin at Indianapolis. Duke trailed 48-39 with about 13 1/2 minutes to play before the four frosh scored every one of the Blue Devils’ points the rest of the way.
Allen began the comeback by outscoring the Badgers 8-3 before Tyus Jones hit 13 of his 23 points over the final 11 minutes, including a pair of 3-pointers. Jones hit a trey to give the Blue Devils their biggest lead of the night at 66-58 with 1:12 remaining. Jones was named the Most Outstanding Player of the tournament.
Allen scored 10 of his 16 points in the second half and was 5-for-8 from the field. Winslow chipped in 11 points, nine rebounds and three blocks, while Okafor contributed 10 points in just 22 minutes. Okafor and Winslow each finished the game with four fouls and missed large chunks of playing time, which allowed Allen to shine in the biggest game of his life. Allen entered the game average four points and 8.9 minutes before giving the Blue Devils 21 productive minutes. Remarkably, Duke’s comeback began with Okafor and Winslow on the bench.
Krzyzewski joins John Wooden as the only coaches to win at least five NCAA men’s basketball titles.
Wisconsin appeared ready to pull away in the second half, two days after ending Kentucky’s bid for a perfect season. But the Badgers were held to just 15 points after scoring 17 in the first 6 1/2 minutes of the second half.
AP Player of the Year Frank Kaminsky had team highs of 21 points and 12 rebounds for the Badgers, who continue to seek their first national championship since 1941.

(Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video

Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter