Marshall County Kammer Plant among 3 coal-fired power plants to shut down


The Kammer Power station in Marshall County is among three coal-fired power plants that have shut down in the state.

Appalachian Power announced in 2011 that it planned to close the plants, along with three coal-fired plants in Virginia, Ohio and Indiana. 

In March, the company sent notices regarding the West Virginia plant closures to the state and to employees. 

The Kammer Plant has been operating in Marshall County since 1958 and AEP said it didn’t make financial sense to bring the plant up to new environmental standards.

“It had been operating in compliance with the standards that we needed to at the time, but with the standards set forth in this ruling and future, what we see coming in the future, it would have been in the billions of dollars for AEP to bring these older plants into compliance,” said AEP External Affairs Manager Carmen Prati-Miller.

Prati-Miller said the closure of the Kammer Plant will not effect the price customers are currently paying. 

AEP will still have a few facilities fueled by coal, but those facilities meet the current and should meet future environmental standards.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video





Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter