MEC Announces 2016 Softball Awards


The Mountain East Conference today announced its top individual softball award winners for the 2016 season with Fairmont State’s Courtney Iacobacci (Player of the Year), Charleston’s Alli Burdette (Pitcher of the Year) and Wheeling Jesuit’s Molly Welsh (Freshman of the Year) claiming honors. UC head coach Ray Loeser was tabbed as the conference’s Coach of the Year. 

Iacobacci, a senior outfielder from Stow, Ohio, was near or at the top of nearly every offensive category in the MEC this season. She ranked first in the league in average (.455), slugging (.877), home runs (19), runs scored (52), total bases (135) and on-base percentage (.528). She was a two-time MEC Player of the Week and is one of 25 finalists for the NFCA Player of the Year award.  

Burdette, a junior from Charleston, W.Va., led the MEC in wins (25), opponent batting average (.180) and strikeouts (161). The four-time MEC Pitcher of the Week posted a 1.42 ERA in 167.2 innings pitched with 17 complete games and eight shutouts. She allowed two or fewer runs 25 times in 32 appearances (26 starts). 

A Bethel Park, Pa., native, Welsh ranked sixth in the league with a .392 batting average in her freshman campaign for the Cardinals. She notched a team-best 13 doubles to go with 16 stolen bases and drove in 25 runs on the season. 

In his fifth season at the helm of UC, Loeser guided the Golden Eagles to a 42-7 record and the MEC South Division title going 29-3 in league play. The team also earned its first national ranking in program history this season earlier this season and is currently 23rd in the country.

In addition to the award winners, the MEC also announced its all-conference teams. The all-conference teams and individual awards are selected by a vote of the league’s coaches.

All-MEC First Team
CMorgan BruceW.Va. WesleyanSo.Lynchburg, Va.
CAlyssa MorrisConcordSr.Virginia Beach, Va.
1BLaura AshlockCharlestonJr.Kansas City, Mo.
2BSissy StubbsFairmont StateSr.Berlin Center, Ohio
2BBrooklyn WaddellW.Va. WesleyanJr.Buckhannon, W.Va.
SSCourtney ClemonsShepherdSo.Thurmont, Md.
SSAlayna FurrConcordJr.Lovettsville, Va.
3BKelly BrowningCharlestonSr.Fairfield, Ohio
DP/UtilCarly GregoryW.Va. WesleyanSr.Buckhannon, W.Va.
OFCassie HolsteinWheeling JesuitSo.Millersport, Ohio
OFCourtney IacobacciFairmont StateSr.Stow, Ohio
OFRachelle ToppingsCharlestonJr.Logan, W.Va.
PAlli BurdetteCharlestonJr.Charleston, W.Va.
PKaitlin MundaShepherdSo.Nokesville, Va.
PHannah VetW.Va. WesleyanSo.Naples, Fla.
All-MEC Second Team
CBethany WilliamsCharlestonSo.Cooper City, Fla.
1BConnor GilliganShepherdFr.Medford, N.J.
2BAlexa HernandezUVa-WiseSr.Woodbridge, Va.
SSRebekah HonceW.Va. WesleyanSr.Bridgeport, W.Va.
3BLearic KinserUrbanaFr.Springfield, Ohio
DP/UtilKelsi JohnsonWest LibertySo.Wheeling, W.Va.
DP/UtilCourtney StewartUrbanaJr.Zanesfield, Ohio
OFOlivia GoreW.Va. WesleyanJr.Berryville, Va.
OFSydney KaplanW.Va. StateSr.Milton, W.Va.
OFLauren LewisConcordJr.Kearneysville, W.Va.
OFMolly WelshWheeling JesuitFr.Bethel Park, Pa.
PTaylor BrandtsUVa-WiseSo.King George, Va.
PMallory ChapmanWheeling JesuitSo.New Martinsville, W.Va.
PSayaka FoleyW.Va. WesleyanJr.Peoria, Ariz.
PJessie RoweCharlestonSo.Lavalette, W.Va.
Player of the Year: Courtney Iacobacci (Fairmont State)
Pitcher of the Year: Alli Burdette (Charleston)
Freshman of the Year: Molly Welsh (Wheeling Jesuit)
Coach of the Year: Ray Loeser (Charleston)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video





Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter