MEC Announces Scholar-Athlete Of The Year Finalists


The Mountain East Conference today announced the 12 female and 12 male finalists for the league’s inaugural Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.
Each institution in the MEC selected one female and one male as finalists for the Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, which recognizes outstanding academic and athletic performance for the previous academic year. Each finalist will receive a plaque. The criteria to be nominated are: (1) a 3.30 cumulative grade-point average; (2) participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s contests in a MEC-sponsored sport; (3) minimum of one year in residence at the institution.
The female finalists are: Sarah Akers (Concord University, Soccer), Hailey Garrett (Fairmont State University, Basketball), Paige Tuttle (Glenville State College, Basketball), Lauren Langenderfer (Notre Dame College, Basketball), Georgia Karr (Shepherd University, Lacrosse), Nichole Perry (University of Charleston, Basketball), Taylor Gianangeli(Urbana University, Soccer), Karly Allen (UVa-Wise, Volleyball), Lauren Howard (West Liberty University, Tennis), Sydney Kaplan (West Virginia State, Softball), Jessica Hong(West Virginia Wesleyan, Soccer), Andrea Thobe (Wheeling Jesuit).
The male finalists are: Cade Rogers (Concord University, Football), David Bannister (Fairmont State University, Tennis), Hunter McWhorter (Glenville State College, Football),Mitchell Shegos (Notre Dame College, Football), Steven Lesko (Shepherd University, Tennis), Conor Branson (University of Charleston, Soccer), Taylor Cayot (Urbana University, Football), Bill Steven (UVa-Wise, Baseball), C.J. Hester (West Liberty University, Basketball), Dennis Gardeck (West Virginia State, Football), Tanner McGrew (West Virginia Wesleyan, Basketball), Tyler Zahnon (Wheeling Jesuit, Track & Field).
The Scholar-Athlete of the Year is determined by a vote of the administrators in the Mountain East Conference and the league office. The female Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be announced Tuesday, July 21, and the male winner will be announced Wednesday, July 22.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter