Call the coronavirus hotline with your questions at 1-833-4-ASK-ODH

More Honors for West Liberty’s Bonifant

The honors continue to roll in for West Liberty University men’s basketball standout Seger Bonifant.

Less than a week after being named NCAA Division II National Player of the Year by Basketball Times magazine, the 6-7 junior sharpshooter from Berlin, Ohio has earned a berth on the prestigious Daktronics NCAA Division II All-America Team and was also a first-team pick on the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-Atlantic District honor roll.

A consensus selection as the Mountain East Conference and Atlantic Region Player of the Year, Bonifant helped lead the No. 5-ranked Hilltoppers to a 28-4 record along with their sixth consecutive conference championship and “Sweet 16” berth. The Hilltoppers saw their four-year run as Atlantic Region champions halted in a heartbreaking 77-74 loss to No. 25 Indiana (Pa.) in last week’s Atlantic Region championship game.

The lone junior on the 5-man Daktronics All-America first-team unit, Bonifant averaged 22.8 ppg., 10th in Division II, along with 4.0 rebounds per game. He shot 56.8 percent from the floor (254-of-447) and 84.7 percent from the line (105-of-124). 

Already established as one of the top 3-point shooters in NCAA Division II history, Bonifant made an astounding 117-of-224 3-point shot (52.2 percent). He leads Division II in 3-point field goals and 3-point field goal percentage and ranks fourth in 3-pointers per game. His career 3-point field goal percentage (259-of-480, .540) is No. 1 all-time in the NCAA Division II ranks.

Bonifant reached double-figures in 31 of West Liberty’s 32 games with 20 games of 20 or more points, seven 30-point games and a career-high 44-point explosion in a win at Glenville on Jan. 12. Already ranking among the Hilltoppers’ all-time leading scorers with 1,396 career points heading into his senior season, he drained an NCAA Division II season-high 10 3-pointers in a win against Shepherd on Jan. 8 and set a career-high by going 14-of-15 from the foul line at Urbana on Dec. 6.

Joining Bonifant on the 2015 Daktronics First-Team All-America list are four seniors – 6-2 Kevin Capers of Florida Southern, 6-4 Garrett Kerr from the University of the Sciences (Pa.), 6-1 Troy Leaf of Azusa Pacific (Calif.) and 6-8 Darrell Williams of Texas A&M-Commerce. Kerr was tabbed as the Daktronics NCAA Division II National Player of the Year.

Rounding out the NABC Atlantic District All-District team are Adam Blazek of Gannon, Devante Chance of Indiana (Pa.), Whis Grant and Matt Tobin of East Stroudsburg and Cameron Knox of Bowie State.

The Daktronics All-America teams are selected in voting by NCAA Division II Sports Information Directors from coast to coast. The NABC All-District teams are chosen in voting by NCAA Division II men’s basketball coaches nationwide. The first-team NABC All-District selections are eligible for berths on the NABC All-America Team, which will be released later this month.

First Team
Player, School Pos. Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown 
Kevin Capers, Florida Southern G 6-2 170 Sr. Winter Haven, Fla.
Garret Kerr, Univ. of the Sciences* F 6-4 240 Sr. Avalon, N.J.
Troy Leaf, Azusa Pacific G 6-1 177 Sr. San Diego, Calif. 
Darrell Williams, Texas A&M-Commerce F 6-8 n/a Sr. Chicago, Ill. 
   – RON LENZ PLAYER OF THE YEAR:  Garret Kerr, Univ. of the Sciences
Second Team
Player, School Pos. Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown 
Alex Herrera, Fort Lewis C 6-10 255 Sr. Ignacio, Colo. 
Daniel Jansen, Augustana (SD) F 6-9 240 Jr. Orange City, Iowa
Mitch McCarron, Metro State G 6-3 215 Sr. Brisbane, Australia
Ben Stelzer, Michigan Tech G 6-1 170 Sr. Manitowoc, Wisc.
Derrick White, Colorado-Colo. Springs G 6-5 185 Jr. Parker, Colo. 
Third Team
Player, School Pos. Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown 
Eric Anderson, New Haven F/C 6-8 235 Sr. Newark, N.J.
Troran Brown, Montevallo G 6-2 n/a Sr. Phoenix, Ariz. 
Darian Hooker, New York Tech G 6-1 185 Sr. Washington, D.C.
Jordan Riewer, Minnesota State-Moorhead G 6-2 165 Sr. Staples, Minn. 
Jake Thelen, Bellarmine F 6-7 205 Sr. Edgewood, Ky.
     HONORABLE MENTION:  Yunio Barrueta, Barry; Gerald Beverly, Daemen; Chris Santo, Saint Anselm; Casey Schilling, Augustana (SD)
n n n
2015 NABC All-District Team
Atlantic District
First Team
Adam Blazek, Gannon 
Seger Bonifant, West Liberty 
Devante Chance, Indiana (Pa.)
Whis Grant, East Stroudsburg
Cameron Knox, Bowie State 
Matt Tobin, East Stroudsburg
Second Team
Antonio Butler, Slippery Rock
Dylan Edgar, Shippensburg
Nick Harney, Fairmont State
Donte Morales, Glenville State
Girbran Smith, Gannon
    – Atlantic District Coach of the Year: John Reilly, Gannon

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video

Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter