Parkersburg South Wins OVAC Boys Tennis Championship


 The 2015 OVAC Tennis Championships concluded Thursday at West Liberty University with boy’s singles competition.  All of the matches were very competitive in each division and even the team titles in 1A – 4A and 5A were tied at the end of regulation match play and special criteria had to be used to determine champion and runner-up in both divisions.

East Liverpool and Linsly were tied at the end of competition today in the 1A-4A class and Linsly was awarded the team championship based on more individual titles being won.  East Liverpool was awarded the runner-up team award.  They both finished the tournament with 7 team points.  The other teams in class 1A-4A were Wheeling Central with 6 points, St. Clairsville 5 points, Oak Glen 3 points and Weirton Madonna with 1 point.

The 5A class also ended in a tie between Parkersburg South and Morgantown High.  They each earned 18 team points.  Special criteria was used, as established in the OVAC tennis format, to break team ties and Parkersburg South earned the team title because of the winning the #1 doubles title.  They were even with overall champions and finalists, so a third criteria was used to determine the champion and runner-up. 

The 5A class team points were Parkersburg South with 18 points (Champion), Morgantown 18 points (Runner-up), Cambridge 13 points, University 12 points, Brooke 7 points, John Marshall 3 points, Steubenville 2 points, and Weir High 1 point.

A special recognition Carol Strasser Sportsmanship Award is given to the athlete during the tournament that most demonstrates fairness and good sportsmanship, as nominated by the coaches.  Each coach nominates a player from their team and then one of the names is randomly drawn.  This year all of the coaches voted to honor a player from Weir High’s tennis team who was killed several weeks ago in an ATV accident.  His name was Chase Crow.  Chase’s parents will be awarded this special plaque by the OVAC Conference.

Individual Results

#1 Singles – Steven Wu (Morgantown) def. Ben White (Parkersburg South) 8-6.

#2 Singles – Sam Valenzuela (University) def. Brendan Ryan (St. Clairsville) 8-4.

#3 Singles – Helge Ningel (Morgantown) def. Alex Herring (Parkersburg South) 8-3.

#4 Singles – Perry Eldredge (Cambridge) def. Lamonte Paine (Morgantown) 8-6.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video





Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter