West Liberty University Announces Search Committee to Find New President


West Liberty University (WLU) announced the group of people in charge of finding the new leader on the Hilltop.

The search committee was announced at Wednesday night’s Board of Governors meeting featuring 21 members including students, faculty, alumni and current board members.

The search committee includes:

-Student Government President: Evan Newman,
-Student Government President Elect: Allyson Ashworth
-Alumnus: Jim Frum,
-Alumnus: Jay Duffy
-Foundation Board Chairman: Rich Lucas
-Foundation Board representative: Tom Reinbold
-Classified Staff representative: Katie Cooper, WLU Director of Financial Aid
-Non-Classified Staff representative: Scott Cook, Dean of Enrollment & Student Services/Registrar
-Faculty Member: Linda Cowan
-Chair of the Faculty Senate: George Couch
-Chairman of WLU Board of Governors: Patrick D. Kelly
-(Board of Governors):
-Sandra M. Chapman
-Joseph W. Carey
-Richard Carter
-Leslie DeFelice
-Patrick Ford
-Brian E. Joseph
-Ann Thomas 

An additional classified staff, and an additional faculty representative will be selected in the next few weeks once the annual elections of classified staff and faculty Board of Governor members are complete for the 2015-16 academic year.

An additional member, representing the Deans Council, also will be determined soon.

Board Chairman George Couch says the committee is set to get started on the search and thinks there are plenty of great candidates out there for the job.

“We’re looking forward to the search, we’ve already had contact by several candidates and search specialist who’d like to work with us,” said Couch. “We’re very optimistic about the search and we think we’ll get a good candidate to help us lead West Liberty University into the next several years.”

The selection committee will first meet on April 28 to start the search. WLU accepted former president Robin Capehart’s resignation on March 11. 

Dr. John McCullough has been serving as the interim president since.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video

Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter