Wheeling Inducts Next Class into City’s Hall of Fame Board


The City of Wheeling Hall of Fame Board  hosted their 2015 induction ceremony Saturday night as nine new members were inducted, the largest class in years.

This year’s class includes:

-Mary Elizabeth Fassig Keyser, a former vaudeville and Capitol Theatre performer.

-Dr. Arthur Rybeck, a local dentist who provided free dental services to the less fortunate.

-Clyde D. Campbell, the former West Liberty State College, Ohio County Board of Education and Ohio County Heart Association president.

-Susan Cox Hogan, received Wheeling’s first Community Spirit Award.

-Allan Connolly, long-time Ohio County Schools educator.

-Jay Handlan, record-breaking Triadelphia High School athlete who was drafted by the NBA and tried out for the Cleveland Browns.

-James Nelson Vance, known as one of Wheeling’s “Captains of Industry” for his to Wheeling’s steel industry.

-Billy Cox, Blues and R&B musician inducted into the West Virginia Music Hall of Fame who played with Jimi Hendrix at Woodstock.

-Frederick Faris, called the Dean of Wheeling’s architecture for his designs of public buildings including Wheeling and Triadelphia High Schools.

The Hall of Fame Board Induction will be the last major event at Wesbanco Arena before it closes for three months this summer and receives new seats and hand rails as part of an ongoing renovation project.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video

Click Here To Enter!

Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter