Wheeling Jesuit’s Chapman Named All-Atlantic Region


Mallory Chapman’s first-year impact on the Wheeling Jesuit softball team continued Monday. The freshman pitcher became the Lady Cardinals first Daktronics, Inc./Division II CCA Softball All-Atlantic Region/District 2 honoree in the nine-year history of the awards.

Chapman was honored to the All-Atlantic Region Second Team. Fellow Mountain East Conference member West Virginia Wesleyan led the two region teams with six honorees.

The freshman pitcher helped Wheeling Jesuit to its first non-losing season (20-20) since 2008. The Lady Cardinals also garnered fourth place (16-8) in the MEC regular season.

In her first collegiate season, Chapman made her mark amongst the top league and region’s pitchers. The freshman All-MEC first teamer led the conference in earned run average (1.36) and innings pitched (165.0), while second in wins (15) and opponent batting average (.210) and third in strikeouts (143).

The New Martinsville, W. Va., native logged pitching victories in 15 of Wheeling Jesuit’s 20 season wins. She did not allow an earned run in 13 of her 26 appearances with a streak of 29-straight innings without an earned run covering five games. Chapman averaged 2.65 strikeouts for every walk – 143 strikeouts to 54 walks – with a season-high 10 strikeouts at Urbana on March 21. The first-year pitcher also fanned nine hitters, three times and eight batters in three other contests.

At the plate, Chapman helped her own cause. In 74 at bats, she hit .284 with 21 hits, five runs, three doubles, four home runs and 12 RBI.

2015 Daktronics, Inc./Division II CCA Softball All-Atlantic Region/District 2 Team

First Team:

SP: Hannah Vet (West Virginia Wesleyan)
SP: Alex Sagl (California, Pa.)
SP: Savannah Nierintz (Kutztown)
C: Alyssa Morris (Concord)
1B: Lindsay Reicoff (California, Pa.)
2B: Brooklyn Waddell (West Virginia Wesleyan)
SS: Carlee Wickstrom (Seton Hill)
3B: Morgan Hasty (Johnson C. Smith)
OF: Krista Waggoner (West Virginia Wesleyan)
OF: Olivia Gore (West Virginia Wesleyan)
OF: Kelsey Coleman (Notre Dame, Ohio)
DP: Sydney Kaplan (West Virginia State)
UT-P: Christine Henderson (Seton Hill)
UT-NP: Kaitlyn Kutchman (Seton Hill)

Player of Year: Kelsey Coleman, OF, Notre Dame (Ohio)
Pitcher of Year: Alex Sagl, California (Pa.)

Second Team:
SP: Courtney Fain (Charleston)
SP: Mallory Chapman (Wheeling Jesuit)
SP: Taylor Parker (Bloomsburg)
C: Megan Malenstyn (West Virginia Wesleyan)
1B: Cortney Norris (Charleston)
2B: Courtney Clemons (Shepherd)
SS: Tina White (Chowan)
3B: Natalyn Smarra (California, Pa.)
3B: Hannah Mercer (Indiana, Pa.)
OF: Laura Crooks (Edinboro)
OF: Kaity Finley (California, Pa.)
OF: Victoria Stock (Seton Hill)
OF: Lauren Lewis (Concord)
DP: Anna Eggleston (West Virginia Wesleyan)
UT-P:  Jess Rectenwald (Gannon)
UT-NP: Emily Price (California, Pa.)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video

Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter