New Pennsylvania DUI laws take effect

News
dui_1529157097889.png

A new law with tougher penalties for repeat DUI drivers will go into effect on Sunday.

Act 153 of 2018 allows felony charges against drunken drivers if it’s their third DUI offense and their blood-alcohol content is 0.16 percent or higher, or if the arrest is their fourth or higher.

The bill also increases prison time when intoxicated drivers unintentionally cause the death of another person.

The minimum sentence would increase from three years to five years if the person has a prior DUI, and from three years to seven years if there are two or more prior DUIs.

If a repeat offender is driving while their license is suspended or revoked, they would face at least 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000 for a second offense. 

A third or subsequent offense would be at least six months in prison and a fine of $2,500.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

video

More Video

Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter