Last surviving WWII Medal of Honor recipient is from WV

West Virginia Headlines

(WTRF) West Virginia’s World War II hero, Hershel “Woody” Williams, is now the last surviving Medal of Honor recipient. 

Charles Coolidge was the country’s oldest recipient until his death on April 6th. 

Williams was awarded the Medal of Honor for his bravery as a U-S Marine during the Battle of Iwo Jima

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Video

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter