For West Virginians looking to warm up by the bonfire on those chilly October nights, they may need to be more cautious around the pit.
As of October 1, 2018, the “5 p.m. Burn Law” goes into effect statewide, meaning there should be no burning from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m. Under this new law, fires must be attended at all times, and the area must be cleared down to the dirt at least 10 feet around what is being burned.
If the fire escapes, those who set it are liable for the costs of fighting the fire and any damage caused.
Setting fires is a felony and punishable by a fine or prison time.
In any case of an arson, there is a $1,000 reward for information that leads to the arrest and conviction of an arsonist. To report such information, the West Virginia arson hotline can be reached at 1-800-233-FIRE.