IMS Museum celebrates pair of racing icons

Big Race - Indy

SPEEDWAY, Ind. (WISH) – From the first car to ever win the Indianapolis 500, to more modern racers, you can see it all at the Indianapols Motor Speedway Museum.

“We are never going to run out of stories to tell here,” Eric Powell of the IMS Museum said.

This year, the museum has two new exhibits celebrating 50 years of history.

Mario Andretti won the 1969 Indy 500, the same year legendary team owner Roger Penske had his first entry in the race.

Andretti is this year’s driver being honored in the icon exhibit.

“You know, he’s one of the best drivers in the world, so this was a good year to do it,” Powell said.

“It has been beyond what I ever could have expected,” Andretti remarked. “I was in tears when I first got here and saw what they did.”

Within the exhibit, you can see Andretti’s influence transcend into different racing series’ and get a firsthand look at the tools he used to make the Andretti name what it is today.

“The diversity of his career is just so phenomenal, so amazing,” Powell said. “This was a guy who could literally be racing the Hoosier 100 here in Indianapolis and then flying to Italy for a race the next day.” 

Team Penske is celebrating 50 years in racing. The exhibit highlights five of the most iconic cars in the team’s history.

“Penske won the Brickyard 400 for the first time last year, and then they had the team’s 500th win last year,” Powell said. “It is just kind of interesting how all of these anniversaries have come about and 2019 has proven to be a pretty good year to do all this.”

Both exhibits will be up at the museum through November.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sports Video

More Sports Videos


More Video

Barnesville High School

Beallsville High School

Beaver Local High School

Bellaire High School

Bridgeport High School

Brooke High School

Buckeye Local High School

Buckeye Trail High School

Caldwell High School

Cambridge High School

Cameron High School

Clay-Battelle High School

Conotton Valley High School

East Liverpool High School

Edison High School

Fort Frye High School

Harrison Central High School

Hundred High School

Indian Creek High School

John Marshall High School

Linsly High School

Magnolia High School

Martins Ferry High School

Meadowbrook High School

Monroe Central High School

Morgantown High School

Oak Glen High School

Paden City High School

Parkersburg High School

Parkersburg Catholic High School

Parkersburg South High School

River High School

St. Clairsville High School

Shadyside High School

Shenandoah High School

Steubenville High School

Steubenville Catholic Central High School

Toronto High School

Tyler Consolidated High School

Union Local High School

University High School

Valley High School

Weir High School

Weirton Madonna High School

Wellsville High School

Wheeling Central High School

Wheeling Park High School

Ohio Lottery

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter