Vet Voices

Nailers Make History With 1,000th Win


WHEELING, W.Va. – The Wheeling Nailers made history on Wednesday night at WesBanco Arena. The team who is getting ready to celebrate its 30th season in the fall had a big celebration, as they earned their 1,000th victory all-time. Tim Doherty led the offensive attack with a pair of goals, while Tommy Nappier made 28 saves, as the Nailers were triumphant 5-1 over the Indy Fuel.

The play during the first period had a lot of pace to it, as the teams exchanged chances with strong skating. Only one puck found the back of the net, and that was by the Fuel with 2:27 remaining. Spencer Watson drove his way through the left circle as he made his way toward the net. The puck ended up bouncing off of a couple of bodies, before it trickled in over the goal line.

The middle frame was all Wheeling and it started with two goals in a span of 59 seconds. Tim Doherty put the Nailers on the scoreboard at the 5:48 mark, when he jammed in a cross-crease pass from Austin Fyten. Less than a minute later, a pile of players crashed the goal and Patrick Watling got rewarded with the go-ahead strike. Wheeling extended its advantage with 3:32 left, when Brendan Harris swept the puck across the slot for a wide open swat-in by Nick Rivera.

With history knocking on the door, the Nailers made sure they got the victory, as they tacked on two insurance goals in the third. Kyle Marino got the first one at the 2:31 mark. His initial shot was blocked, but he followed up the attempt, curled around the net, and stuffed in a wraparound. Then, with 4:20 on the clock, Doherty tossed in a backhander for his second of the night and a 5-1 Wheeling triumph.

Tommy Nappier earned the win in goal for the Nailers in his first start at WesBanco Arena, as he stopped 28 of the 29 shots he faced. Billy Christopoulos took the loss for Indy, as he made 24 saves on 29 shots.

The Nailers will play their next four games on the road, beginning on Friday night against the South Carolina Stingrays. Wheeling will then finish the season at home on June 4th and 5th.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sports Video

More Sports Videos


More Video




Barnesville High School

Beallsville High School

Beaver Local High School

Bellaire High School

Bridgeport High School

Brooke High School

Buckeye Local High School

Buckeye Trail High School

Caldwell High School

Cambridge High School

Cameron High School

Clay-Battelle High School

Conotton Valley High School

East Liverpool High School

Edison High School

Fort Frye High School

Harrison Central High School

Hundred High School

Indian Creek High School

John Marshall High School

Linsly High School

Magnolia High School

Martins Ferry High School

Meadowbrook High School

Monroe Central High School

Morgantown High School

Oak Glen High School

Paden City High School

Parkersburg High School

Parkersburg Catholic High School

Parkersburg South High School

River High School

St. Clairsville High School

Shadyside High School

Shenandoah High School

Steubenville High School

Steubenville Catholic Central High School

Toronto High School

Tyler Consolidated High School

Union Local High School

University High School

Valley High School

Weir High School

Weirton Madonna High School

Wellsville High School

Wheeling Central High School

Wheeling Park High School

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter

12SportsZone Twitter