Wheeling earns NCAA berth; hosting rights for Atlantic Regional


Wheeling University Sports

Countdown To The Draft
April 29 2021 08:00 pm

INDIANAPOLIS, IN. – After earning the league’s automatic qualifier for winning the Mountain East Conference (MEC) Tournament on Saturday, the Cardinals were selected as the top seed in the region and the host for the eight-team 2019 NCAA Division II Atlantic Regional Tournament.

The tournament will take place at the McDonough Center, beginning on Thursday, December 5 at 12 p.m.

The Wheeling University volleyball team were awarded an eighth-consecutive bid to host the regional tournament after posting a 31-3 overall record. The Cardinals will face Fayetteville State (19-6), the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) champion, in an opening round match at 7:30 p.m.

The winner of that match will face the winner of the match between No. 4 Shippensburg and No. 5 Millersville in the semifinals on Friday night.

On the other side of the bracket, No. 2 seed Gannon will take on No. 7 seed Seton Hill in a 2018 Atlantic Region Semifinal rematch, while No. 3 seed East Stroudsburg will take on No. 6 Shepherd in a re-match of the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) Championship.

The winner from the Atlantic Regional advances to the national quarterfinals in Denver, Colorado at the Auraria Events Center on Thursday, December 12. Teams advancing to the final site will be reseeded before the national quarterfinals.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sports Video

More Sports Videos


More Video


College Scoreboard

Barnesville High School

Beallsville High School

Beaver Local High School

Bellaire High School

Bridgeport High School

Brooke High School

Buckeye Local High School

Buckeye Trail High School

Caldwell High School

Cambridge High School

Cameron High School

Clay-Battelle High School

Conotton Valley High School

East Liverpool High School

Edison High School

Fort Frye High School

Harrison Central High School

Hundred High School

Indian Creek High School

John Marshall High School

Linsly High School

Magnolia High School

Martins Ferry High School

Meadowbrook High School

Monroe Central High School

Morgantown High School

Oak Glen High School

Paden City High School

Parkersburg High School

Parkersburg Catholic High School

Parkersburg South High School

River High School

St. Clairsville High School

Shadyside High School

Shenandoah High School

Steubenville High School

Steubenville Catholic Central High School

Toronto High School

Tyler Consolidated High School

Union Local High School

University High School

Valley High School

Weir High School

Weirton Madonna High School

Wellsville High School

Wheeling Central High School

Wheeling Park High School

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter

12SportsZone Twitter