Vet Voices

Wheeling’s Lewicki named MEC Coach of the Year

Countdown to the 4th of July
July 04 2021 08:00 pm

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – Eight members of the Wheeling University baseball team earned All-Mountain East Conference (MEC) laurels and Head Coach Ryan Lewicki was named the MEC Coach of the Year, as the league announced its annual post-season baseball awards Wednesday.

Lewicki was named the MEC Coach of the Year after leading the Cardinals to a historic turnaround that included the North Division title. After winning 27 games combined from 2017-19, the Cardinals won a school-record 27 games this spring in his first full season* at the helm since taking over the program in January 2019.  In addition to wins, Wheeling set program records in eight other major statistical categories this season. As divisional champs, Lewicki has the Cardinals in the postseason for the first time since 2011. 

Senior third baseman Luis Dominguez (Bronx, N.Y./Cardinal Spellman), sophomore utility player Jacob Murray (Beallsville, Ohio/Linsly), junior outfielder Chris Iazzetta (Clinton, N.J./IMG Academy), sophomore starting pitcher Jared Naida (Cleveland, Ohio/Lakewood) and junior relief pitcher Albert Baez (Fort Worth, Texas/Timber Creek) all were tabbed All-MEC First Team selections.

Sophomore catcher Riley Cameron (Vass, N.C./Union Pines) earned Second-Team All-MEC status, while junior outfielder Jack Skantze (Clearwater, Fla./Countryside) and junior starting pitcher Logan Pillars (Rock Falls, Ill./Rock Falls) were each named to the All-MEC Honorable Mention Team.

Concord’s Anthony Stehlin claimed Player of the Year honors and Charleston’s Logan Campbell earning Pitcher of the Year accolades. UC’s Mitchell Vincent was tabbed as the MEC Freshman of the Year.

The Cardinals enter the MEC Tournament at 27-12 overall, 22-9 in league play, and winners of the MEC North Division. Wheeling will play Concord in an opening round game tomorrow, Thursday, May 13 in Beckley, West Virginia. First-pitch is slated for 3:30 p.m.

*Wheeling was 9-4 last year before the season was canceled.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sports Video

More Sports Videos


More Video




College Scoreboard

Barnesville High School

Beallsville High School

Beaver Local High School

Bellaire High School

Bridgeport High School

Brooke High School

Buckeye Local High School

Buckeye Trail High School

Caldwell High School

Cambridge High School

Cameron High School

Clay-Battelle High School

Conotton Valley High School

East Liverpool High School

Edison High School

Fort Frye High School

Harrison Central High School

Hundred High School

Indian Creek High School

John Marshall High School

Linsly High School

Magnolia High School

Martins Ferry High School

Meadowbrook High School

Monroe Central High School

Morgantown High School

Oak Glen High School

Paden City High School

Parkersburg High School

Parkersburg Catholic High School

Parkersburg South High School

River High School

St. Clairsville High School

Shadyside High School

Shenandoah High School

Steubenville High School

Steubenville Catholic Central High School

Toronto High School

Tyler Consolidated High School

Union Local High School

University High School

Valley High School

Weir High School

Weirton Madonna High School

Wellsville High School

Wheeling Central High School

Wheeling Park High School

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

More Top News

WTRF 7News Twitter

12SportsZone Twitter